Red Cable Socks Completed

This is my first effort at knitting cables,  and in true to myself form,  I took on a herculean cabling project.  Although I had never actually knitted cables before,  I had

done alot of reading on the subject and felt that I was ready to try.  The pattern is the “Cabled Detail Socks”  from the Patons’ Yarn Book:  Socks in the City,  which I bought the physical version of from Joann’s awhile back.   The yarn is Deborah Norville’s Serenity Sock Solids,  which I also used on my grey socks.  I made these socks with a separate big toe,  which is the way I knit all my socks lately.  I like the ability to wear them with a pair of flip flops or sandals.  It improves the versatility of them for me.

I had some trouble with the first sock (my left in the pic).  I  began the cabling on the wrong side of the sock (had the ribbing turned inside out while beginning the cable pattern) ,   but I caught it in time enough to not have to rip and restart (whew!).   I’m pleased with the finished product,  and I learned some things that I didn’t know,  such as the fact that cabled knitting makes a looser sizing,  which is something I’ll know to take into consideration for my next cabled project.

Photography by Photo0pal

Here’s some more pics:

 

Leave a Reply

