Weekly Retrospective 5

For this week’s retrospective,  I’ve chosen to share a pair of pants I made a few years back.  The pattern I used is Vogue 1986,  featuring the designs of Isaac Mizrahi, part of the Vogue Attitudes/American Designer series.   The pants were made around 2007.  They’re another one of my $1/yard  “make something out of nothing at all” productions.  The fabric was indeed a buck a yard (from Walmart again I think),  and was originally an orange muslin sort of fabric that I bought and used to make a bag dispenser,  which I’ll show in a future post.  For some reason I decided to change the color and dyed them either a brown or black,  but they didn’t dye evenly.  You can see the mottled effect in some areas.

The pattern was made to accommodate 2 out the 4 figure types defined by pattern companies:  the inverted triangle,  and the rectangle.  Neither of these is my figure type,  and I knew nothing of the figure flattery symbols at that time,  but I think that the pants are flattering nonetheless!   If I make this pattern again however,  I’ll make an adjustment or two to the pattern,  now that I know how they fit.

For your reference,  the 4 figure types and their symbols are shown below:


Inverted TriangeTHE INVERTED TRIANGLE: Large bust and/or broad shoulders with narrow hips.

TriangleTHE TRIANGLE: Small bust and/or narrow shoulders with full hips and/or thighs.

RectangleTHE RECTANGLE: Balanced on top and bottom, but boxy, with little or no waist definition.

HourglassTHE HOURGLASS: Equally balanced on top and bottom, with a trim waist.

Shoes by J41,  socks by me,  vest by Road Rags Jean Co.,   and shirt by Indigo.

Photography by Photo0pal

003

004

011

016 (2)

017 (2)

018 (2)

Leave a Reply

