Butterick 5215

I really needed some new t-shirts in my wardrobe,  so I looked through the pattern catalogs and found B5215.  Its a t-shirt pattern in 3 different fits:  close fitted,  semi-fitted,  and what they call “shirt” (loose) fitted.   It isn’t everyday that I pay $10 for a pattern ( I usually wait until they’re on sale),  but there were a few selling points about this one that made me buy it.   First,  the envelope states “Modern Fit with RTW Sizing” (by designer Connie Crawford),  which to my mind meant that I’ll be getting the fit of a store bought shirt.   Second,  the description on the envelope back was very convincing,  and third,  it’s a pattern for petite women.  I’m 5’1.5″ (156.2 cm)  tall,  and since not many patterns are made specifically for petites,   this was important to me.

The instructions had tutorials for how to fix armhole sizing problems for size XXL -6X.   There was also guidance on how to alter the pattern for slanted shoulders,  as well as how to work with the pattern for different figure types.

The shirt I made is the most fitted version in size medium with a grading to a large from the waist to the hips.  I also added an inch to the length,  which I won’t do next time because it turned out a little too long for my liking.  Next time I make this pattern I’m going to cut a complete medium all the way instead of grading to a larger size,  because I think that the grading had an effect on the “fitted” fit in the waistline.  Other than that I’m happy with the pattern and I’ll definitely be using it to make more t-shirts, as well as  3/4 length and long sleeve shirts for the coming fall season.

Photography by Photo0pal

Skirt by Iris Impressions

036

032

040

041

042

043

 

Leave a Reply

