Thai Fisherman Pants

TFP 12015 is truly a stashbusting/refashion year for me.  I’m actively working to use what fabrics I’ve got because my stash is starting to overflow and my space is limited,  so be prepared to see many a post with this theme in the coming months.  This isn’t to say that I won’t be buying any fabric at all this year (perish the thought!) – it means that I’ll be buying only what I need for a planned project or to help me make use of my stash.

These were made with the Thai Fisherman Pants pattern by Burda.  It’s a downloadable PDF home printable pattern that I tried out.  In keeping with my liking of drop crotch pants,  these are another variation of that style,  this time from an Asian cultural perspective.  As stated in the name,  these were originally worn by men,  but they’ve been adapted for women commercially,  and are now unisex in status.   The pattern has the usual flaws that most all print at home patterns I’ve ever worked with have:  the pattern lines don’t always line up perfectly, the use of scotch tape is excessive,  and a lot of paper gets wasted,  however,  the pattern did work so I don’t have any real complaints.  If you consider making this pattern,  there is a correction to the pattern layout that you must know:  the front and back curve pieces must be cut separately,  and on the right side,  in order for the pants to assemble correctly.   If you cut the pieces in the standard way,  you won’t be able to construct them because only one of the pieces will work,  and the other won’t.

I used remnants of flannel and green and shiny blue polyester that I had from my Craigslist haul.  I lined the pants with other flannel remnants from pajama makings past.  The lining makes them warm enough for walking outdoors during the winter to spring transition,  and good for wearing in autumn and indoors throughout the winter.  I added a flap with snaps to the pocket,  so that it’ll be more secure and actually hold something more than say, a tissue,  without having it fall out.  Another alteration I made was that I doubled the height of the waistband,  in order to compensate for my large hips.

They’re comfy and easy to wear,  so I do recommend making a pair!

Sweater : By Next Era

Shoes :  J41

Photography by Photo0pal

TFP 2

TFP 3

TFP 4

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

