Learning To Spin

I recently did some shopping for yarns to knit a tank top with.  I bought 2 different yarns,  and had planned to hold them double while knitting,  however when I began knitting with them I wasn’t pleased with the effect.   It wasn’t what I was hoping for.   After giving it some thought I realized that the 2 yarns needed to be twisted together,  or plyed,  in order to have the cohesive look I wanted when I knit it up.   Off I went into researching spinning!  I didn’t want to spend a lot of money to get my feet wet,  I just wanted to try it out,  so I decided to buy a drop spindle.  I bought a spindle by Schacht,  from Dharma Trading,  watched some videos on YouTube on how to drop spin,  and I was on my way!  Getting the hang of it was a bit awkward at first,  but with practice I improved.  The yarns I spun together are:  Nettle Grove by Plymouth Yarns,  and Hempathy by Elsebeth Lavold.     A few pics of the process:

Spindle
My new spindle with the leader attached

 

Yarns
Nettle Grove on the left, Hempathy on the right.
Both yarns twisted together.  The objective of my work.
Plying the yarn together
Plyed Yarn
The yarn after spinning, all plyed together.

 

Plyed Yarn Ball
The ball of yarn I made after winding the plyed yarn off the spindle.

I have 2 more skeins of these yarns left to spin together.  Then it’s time to knit 🙂

2 Comments

  1. I’m very curious as to how this will knit up. How are the yarns originally twisted? Are they both spun and then plied in the same directions? If so, did you ply them in the opposite direction of their original plies?

    I ask because commercial yarns are usually perfectly balanced, and plying them together might have created some extra tension that will show in the finished object… Like I said, I’m very curious to see what happens! 😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

