Plying My Way Into 2017

I had some leftover roving from my last project.  I wanted to make something new with what I already have in my stash,  so I looked through it and this is what I found:

lornas-and-rr-1

On the left is my spun roving,  the Noro Rainbow Roll ,  and on the right is a ball wound from a 200 yard skein of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport.  I first used this yarn to make a pair of gloves for my daughter,  and blogged about them here.

I decided that now is the time to finally use up the second skein and try plying it with the roving.  Here’s how they look plied together:

5

Here’s a shot with both yarns visible:

1-2

I had less of the purple yarn,  so I have some roving left,  but I did make use of most of it.

I’m happy to have been able to transform yarn I’ve had sitting around into something totally new!  After I finished plying I had to think of a project that uses only 200 yards.  It’s been pretty cold here,  so I’ve cast on to make a cowl.  More on that when I finish.  Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

